13 REASONS WHY (TV SERIES)

I have just finished the first season of 13 Reasons Why – and I say the first season because I’ve heard that there is a second season on it’s way.

The first season consisted of 13 episodes, the first 12 being dedicated to people that in some way, shape or form contributed to the lead character, Hannah Baker, ending her own life.

If subjects like suicide, rape and betrayal is something you struggle to watch, talk about or deal with I would strongly suggest you not watch this TV show.

I really enjoyed watching this show, in fact it has been my go to thing to watch all week.

I think they spoke about some really tough subjects in a beautiful way, but other stuff should have maybe not been so visual…

I don’t believe that this show is trying to beautify suicide as such or to make it okay. I think it’s saying these things do happen and we need to have an awareness and we need to be able to potentially see some signs if they are there. This show is making it okay to not be okay. It made me feel like it’s okay to go to someone and ask for help and nip the problem in the bud so that it doesn’t escalate to suicide.

I don’t want to give too much away as I really enjoyed watching it and figured some of you might also enjoy it.

I’m looking at reading the book soon as well so will no doubt do a review on that when the time comes.

 

Leave a Reply

